University of California Irvine sub-logo Transportation and Distribution Services logo
UCI and TDS Logo

Violation Definitions

Section 21113a of the California Vehicle Code authorizes the University of California to issue parking citations and to establish penalty amounts.

Code Violation Amount Definition
01 Parking Prohibited $68.00 Parking is prohibited in any area not specifically marked as a parking space.
02 Timed Violation $46.00 Parking at an expired pay by space stall, meter or meter displaying a "fail" or "dead" message is prohibited. If a meter is not functioning (jammed, fails to record time, etc), the driver must locate a functioning meter.
03 No Valid Permit Displayed $60.00 All vehicles parked on the UCI campus must display valid UCI parking permits or have license plate registered with UCI Transportation unless they are parked in metered parking stalls or time controlled zones.
04A Unauthorized Area $53.00 The zone in which a vehicle parks must be consistent with the parking privileges authorized by the parking permit displayed.
07 Removed Chalk Marks $33.00 A vehicle parked in a time controlled zone that has chalk marks that appear to be removed or erased is subject to citation.
08 Parked Outside Stall Markings $33.00 All vehicles must park with all wheels resting within the boundaries of the parking spaces as indicated by the painted lines or other markers.
09 Altered Permit $308.00 The use, display or possession of any permit that has been marked upon in an improper manner or altered in any way is prohibited. (Section V.I.) The Supervising Enforcement Officer or the UCI Police may open the vehicle to secure the altered permit.
10A Reserved Violation $68.00 Reserved parking spaces (i.e. AR, Resident, etc.) are restricted to the assigned vehicle(s), permit holder(s), or registered license plate(s) 24/7 unless otherwise posted.
11A Possession of Lost Permit $508.00 The use, display or possession of a lost permit is prohibited. The Supervising Enforcement Officer or the UCI Police may open the vehicle to secure the stolen permit.
11B Possession of Stolen Permit $508.00 The use, display or possession of a stolen permit is prohibited. The Supervising Enforcement Officer or the UCI Police may open the vehicle to secure the stolen permit.
11C Possession of Terminated Permit $508.00 The use, display or possession of a permit that has been canceled via payroll deduction is prohibited. The Supervising Enforcement Officer or the UCI Police may open the vehicle to secure the stolen permit.
12A Counterfeit Permit $508.00 The use, display or possession of a counterfeit permit is prohibited. The Supervising Enforcement Officer or the UCI Police may open the vehicle to secure the counterfeit permit
13 Overnight Parking Prohibited $68.00 Vehicles parked overnight must display a Resident permit or for areas that utilize a permitless system have license plate registered with UCI Transportation
14A Unauthorized Permit Use Varies Use of a permit that UCI Transportation has determined to be inactive is prohibited. (*Penalty amount determined by permit type and duration of time from date reported lost/terminated/stolen/altered until found in the field).
14B Boot/Tow Fee $145.00 Fee associated with a vehicle that has been booted/impounded (Penalty amount equal to current impound fee)
15 Disabled Parking Violation $508.00 Only those individuals who possess a valid disabled parking placard are authorized to park in disabled parking spaces. UCI faculty, staff and students who display UCI Medical Permits and have medical authorizations forms on file with Parking and Transportation may also park in disabled parking. It is prohibited to park in the blue crosshatch at any time.
16A No Valid Service Permit $68.00 Service parking spaces are restricted to vehicle(s) possessing a service permit and are enforced 24/7.
16B E Plate Vehicle Only $65.00 E Plate parking spaces are restricted to vehicle(s) possessing a California state issued E license plate and are enforced 24/7.
17A No Current Lic. Plate Tabs $143.00 Current registration tags must be displayed or vehicle will receive a citation.
17B Two Lic. Plates Required $48.00 Two license plates must be displayed at all times. Non-compliance will result in citation.
17C License Plate Obstruction $48.00 No object may obstruct a license that may prevent clear visibility of license plate. Non-compliance will result in citation.
17D LPR Lic. Plate Obstruction $48.00 No object may obstruct a license that may prevent clear visibility of license plate. Non-compliance will result in citation.
17E Tinted Front Side Windows $48.00 Transparent material that hinders the ability to view inside vehicle to verify if permit and/or VIN of vehicle.
17G VIN Covered $48.00 A vehicle parked on campus that has the VIN number covered will result in citation.
17H No Registration Displayed $158.00 A vehicle that does not have a license plate, temporary operating permit, or temporary registration displayed will result in citation.
18 Abandoned Vehicle $108.00 Vehicles left on campus over a prolonged period of time will be cited and will be towed.
19A 5+ Total Delinquent Cites $108.00 Issued to a vehicle found with 5 or more delinquent parking citations.
19B 3+ Delinquent UCI Cites $108.00 Issued to a vehicle found with 3 or more delinquent parking citations.
20A No Repair of Vehicle Allowed $43.00 No type of vehicle repair work may be conducted at UCI. Vehicles doing so will receive a citation.
UCI Transportation and Distribution Services
200 Public Services Building
Irvine, CA 92697-4525
Phone: (949) 824-7275      Fax: (949) 824-2387
Office Hours: Monday - Friday 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Policies and Procedures | Privacy and Legal Notice | Contact Webmaster | UCI Home | A&BS | Submit Feedback